Olive pate – quick, cheap, easy, and excellent

Occasionally I have been tempted to buy a rather expensive but very delicious organic black olive pate from the herboristeria.

As I was ladling it out – or rather teaspooning it out sparingly – I looked at the jar. There was very little in it apart from olives. I wondered idly how difficult it was to make.

When I made mushroom pate, I thought about it again, as the addition of some olives to the mushrooms struck me as a possibly interesting improvement.

The next time I thought about making the mushroom pate, I remembered the idea of the olive pate and forgot about mushrooms altogether. I hot fingered it onto the net to look for olive pate recipes.

There wasn’t much to choose between them. They all had olives, olive oil, and garlic. About the only difference seemed to be whether you cooked the garlic first or used it raw.

In the end I roasted it, but it was probably too subtle for our taste, so next time I will use it raw.

I think one recipe added a leek and a carrot? – uh???? Seemed like trying to make a good simple recipe more complicated than necessary.

But, and this is a big BUT, I did find one interesting variation. Add a slice or two of lemon, including skin and pith, to the pate mix. An excellent idea. I dowse all my pates with lemon juice anyway, but actually adding it to the pate gave it a wonderful lift.

So here you go:

Ingredients

One tin black olives (cost 67p compared with one small jar of pate at 3.60€)
Some olive oil
Some cloves of garlic
A slice or two of lemon

Whizz up in batidora until desired consistency
Chill in fridge

Olives, oil, garlic, and lemon in the batadora waiting to be zzzzzzed

Seriously easy, fast, cheap, and delicious. That tin of olives made enough for two greedy people to have two very large helpings for two separate salad meals.

Pate served with what looks like potato salad, roasted pimientos, and tofu and rice

If you wanted to entertain, then it would serve four or more for a starter, or a million people (maybe slightly less) for some tapas.

Pate on toast. Perfect.

Excellent.

20 comments on “Olive pate – quick, cheap, easy, and excellent

    • Olive pate is a ridiculous price which is why engaged brain, looked at ingredients and figured I could do it myself. I haven’t bought it since of course.

      I did however ruin a batidora machine or blade. Not sure which and I haven’t even looked at replacement bits yet so bought a new cheap version. Very not me but I NEEDED one. How else to make vichysoisse or gazpacho? Don’t say a sieve. I never sieve flour.

      Top tip is to use stoned olives. Of course if you liked the stuffed ones eg with anchovy flavour, or peppers, that would be a different taste again. I shall NOT be stoning my own olives in future for that one.

      Like

    • It was the simplicity of it that struck me. Takes less time to whizz up the paté than it does to walk to the shop. If you look up the recipe pages on the header under starters, I’ve included both the green and the black ones. They have a different taste, so check out the green paté before you decide which to make. Or just use whatever you have!

      Like

  1. As Spain is the World’s leading producer of olives I am surprised that the pate is so expensive. I see what you mean about the title – if Olive Pate was a person it could be misleading!

    Like

    • It’s very good. Sometimes I OD on it and have an endless supply in the fridge, and then I forget to make it for months. This post is consistently the one on my blogs that receives the most ‘hits’. Works just as well with green olives too. DO buy unstoned ones, I bought stoned ones, stoned them myself, missed one and ruined a blender :( Both recipes, and others, are on the recipe pages (under starters).

      Like

  2. Fabulous idea. Can’t wait to try it. I ruined a batidora by forgetting to remove a spoon after adding honey to a smoothie. It was just the blades, which a formidable fixit guy was able to replace for a pittance.

    Like

    • The blades on mine looked ok, so don’t know if it was the motor. It was my mum’s so not sure how old it was. The problem with olives is that even stoneless ones can have the odd stone in, so better to check them all which is a bit time-consuming. But otherwise it’s pretty tasty for something so easily put together. Enjoy :)

      Like

Thanks for visiting roughseas whatever your interest and, if you comment, a bigger thanks.

