March 3 – Today’s Food History

Here is an interesting one for you all, especially those veggies/vegans who read this blog.

Saves me posting today too ;)

Foodimentary - National Food Holidays

Most people don’t know that most can sugar is processed using bone char, therefore making it not acceptable for most vegetarian or vegan diets. Beet sugar is a perfect substitute. We have German chemist, Sigismund Marggraf to thank for helping to create an alternative sugar source. Before beet sugar became common, most homes were incapable of affording sugar. They would use molasses, a much cheaper byproduct of cane sugar processing.

Today’s Food History

on this day in…

  • 1709 Andreas Sigismund Marggraf was born. A German chemist, in 1747 he extracted sugar from the sugar beet and determined it was identical to cane sugar. It wasn’t until 1802 that the first beet sugar refinery would be built.
  • 1797 The first patent for a washing machine was issued to Nathaniel Briggs
  • 1855 Congress authorized $30,000 to purchase dromedaries (camels) for the military to use in the Southwest.
  • 1879 Elmer McCollum was born…

View original post 11 more words

14 comments on “March 3 – Today’s Food History

  1. That’s interesting, I am still amazed at all the snippets of information that are available on blogs, far more educational than other places I used to lurk around.

    Like

    • :D Well I used to find out who had died and stuff like that via FB or which American politician was being particularly stupid – but you can find that out via blogs too eg Whitney Houston death. Or the Oscars. But you can also find far more interesting stuff and serious stuff on the blogs. Just reading now about Bosnia and Herzegovina over on Andrew’s blog (link on my ‘blogs I visit’ page). Then I’ll check out his Greek posting. A nice way to spend the first quiet hours of the morning, and gently wake up.

      Like

  2. not sure if as a Vegetarian or Vegan, you can eat honey. But due to diabetic issues, I don’t take sugar. However have recently discovered clear honey on my cereal is adorable and doesn’t impact as much as sugar on my bgl. I can live without sugar, and would never use sweetners, horrible stuff full of chemicals.

    Like

  3. You might like to look into Stevia, which is a naturally sweet leafed plant from which they produce a sweetener. It was previously banned within the EU, but was approved for sale within the last few months. I’m sure its not chamical free, but rather less chemicals than stuff like aspartamine and canderal. I don’t use much sugar either, I have a one pound bag of it here that I bought about 20 years ago.

    Blu.

    Like

    • Never heard of it. I’m not sure I’ve ever bought sugar. I do have a collection of those little packs from airlines still on the odd chance someone gets across the threshold and wants a drink with sugar in it. Assuming they can cope with soya milk as well.

      Like

  4. Win WIn: good read – plus you had something ready made to post! We used to have black strap molasses or Ribbon cane syrup when I was little although it was considered “backwoods/country” at the time…then you couldn’t find it anywhere – now all of a sudden it’s been “re-discovered”. OK with me.

    Like

    • Thank you very much. While I’m not into awards, I’ll try and get around to mentioning a few blogs, as I always think that’s worthwhile.

      I’m guessing it’s my lack of interest in sugar that prevented me from discovering this one until now. Always worthwhile learning though :)

      Like

  5. Not keen on honey. My local source produces beautiful honey, on porridge (good for cholesterol) or mixed in to greek yoghurt or mixed with oats for flapjack.
    Just a few of my favourite things ….
    Didn’t know about cane sugar will have to speak to my dietry guru (does all the cooking!)

    Like

Thanks for visiting roughseas whatever your interest and, if you comment, a bigger thanks.

