The rain in Spain…..

…..stays mainly on the Costa del Sol and along the N340. Or at least it did at the weekend on our journey back there.

Luckily it wasn’t chucking it down, just a few odd light showers. The good thing about grey overcast rainy skies is that you haven’t got brilliant blue skies and dazzing sunlight beating through the glass. So it was a welcome change.

Returning to the finca, there were no neighbours outside, they were clearly hiding from the rain.

Pippa was most disappointed as he wasn’t allowed outside to lie in the wet by his gate.

We left the door slightly ajar for the light and fresh air and he glared at us from underneath his table den.

Preparing the veg for our meal. The Spanish are obsessed with cutting green off veg. The shop woman asked me if I wanted the greens cutting off, and I said no. If I hadn’t wanted the green, I might as well have bought dried onions, and even if I didn’t want them, the chickens would eat it. Waste, waste, waste…….

As you do in Spain, we sat and watched the rain, waited for our food (bean casserole), and considered an early night in order. I’d got the salad prepared for supper – I’ve made that mistake before, going for a quick siesta after lunch and then sleeping through until goodness knows when, and totally missing out on supper.

When the shops re-opened at 5pm we decided to brave the rain, which was bucketing down by now, and go for some olive oil. I put on one of my many leaking Goretexes, and we grabbed our huge Gibtelecom umbrella for the five minute dash down the town.

Our luck was in at the super. Olive oil was on special offer at just over ten euros for five litres. When we first arrived (some ten years ago), the good stuff was around 15-17€ for five litres. Then the price steadily increased each season until it was around a disgraceful 25€ – apparently because of some problems with the olive harvest. Really? It wouldn’t have been because there was lots of money floating around at the time would it?

Now, it’s the cheapest I’ve ever known it. Clearly no problems with the olive harvest now there is no money. Good quality extra virgin olive oil is around 12-14€ for five litres, and if you time it right, it gets brought down to 10€ or so. I think we paid 10.40€ this weekend.

I do think top class olive oil is absolutely essential. Apart from the fact that it is pretty good for you, it’s also less rich and sickly than using butter, for example. I learned from Adelina not to skimp on it, so a healthy amount always gets chucked in whatever I am cooking. I also use it for making any roux-based sauces.

Olive oil duly bought, we ran back up the street, getting totally wet and giggling away like a pair of kids playing in the rain. We ate our meal, fell into bed – and the asparagus and salad greens were still in the fridge the morning after. Note, this turned out to be a bonus in disguise, as the asparagus is now providing salad pots this week.

It was a good thing it rained out on Saturday, because it was bright and clear on Sunday morning for the Romería. Once, in the years we have been here, it has been cancelled due to the rain. They try and leave it as late as possible before they cancel, but given the preparations to deck out the caravans, buy all the food and drink in, cancel work for those who work in the fields – it has to be cancelled on the Saturday. Even worse, then they have to reapply to hold the procession on another Sunday the same month that doesn’t clash with any other procession, festival or cycle race.

One interesting change I noticed this time was the difference in fashions. I thought those frilly frocks were always the same, but no, it seems even they go through changes.

When we first arrived, my neighbour and all her pals would dress up in those frocks with huge spots on them. Awful in design terms to me. There were far less spots in front of my eyes this time though. It seems spots have gone out of fashion. Interestingly there were more skirts as well. They were in the same style, tight over the hips and then flaring out (presumably so women can actually move in them) with the essential frills at the bottom.

My favourite was the one you can just see a glimpse of on the crossing here. An abstract-patterned skirt, with a pale top and a bright gold sash. Worn with a pair of flat brown boots. Very classy. Knocked spots off the spots.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

34 comments on “The rain in Spain…..

  1. Raining here a lot too. Haven’t played golf for 2 weeks – a bit better today but I have child minding duties so instead of the golf course I have been to the seafront but as this is Cleethorpes there were no stylish fiests dresses spotted or not!

    Like

  2. Fabulous pics there, I really don’t know which is my favourite, love the bueys, love the wagons, the girl by the palm tree in red with spots, is my image of Spain, the whole lot just ooze happiness and a fun time. :-)

    Like

        • It was very busy, or buzzy, which really made for lots of life and ‘feel’. And of course, the Spanish don’t care two hoots when you are zapping around taking pix. There was me, a couple of others with nice DSLRs, the cameraperson, but otherwise the only other pic takers were locals using mobiles.

          Raindrops on roses! I Thanks, i won’t post a link to that one :D Sound of music doesn’t quite fit my post.

          Like

  3. sounds like a great day was had by all. i find myself wondering what the rose would look like on DT, but have committed to not always talking about that, so i won’t mention it.
     
    your favourite skirt looks great, what i can see of it.
     
    for all the cooking that i don’t do, i like to use grapeseed oil on those occasions that i do. apparently very good for you. it does not have the flavour of the olive oil, but if you have some that is already quite flavourful in its own right, then grapeseed oil doesn’t compete. that’s just imnasho.
     
    and poor Pippa indeed, with all that rain. Have also sadly neglected reading his blog these last weeks. life has just gotten full and busy. but i have not forgotten him!! trust he is keeping well.

    Like

    • Don’t tempt me, I wondered too. Especially with the ones on the post-specific header where there are more than one bloom. But as you know, Everypic is not a …… so I would need to think of tale, not that I usually have any problems seeing I can write about fuzzy rice and chips.

      I’ve always loved the long slim skirt and flat boots look, not that I have worn a skirt in years.

      I’m hooked on the olive oil. Apart from anything else, it’s local (from Andalucía), zillions of years old, made by hand and not chemically, and my ancient neighbours all seem to thrive on it, so I’m going with that :)

      He is fine, thank you. I even managed an out of focus shot of his tail which may see the light of day somewhere :D

      Like

  4. Now that certainly is a dotted-frock! (C’mon, you know you want one just like it…) Do they really cut the green off of everything? I never would have guessed (here, with those particular onions, I probably would’ve chucked the white, if anything…but of course I never throw anything away, as I’m a little bit of a broth-making fiend :)) Your meals always sound so warm and inviting. It’s too bad Gibraltar is so far away – I’m sure you would make a wonderful dinner party guest.
    anne

    Like

    • C’mon I definitely don’t. I don’t have the shape for it apart from the fact I dislike them intensely!

      Cauliflower green, (they do that in the UK too), the ends of the leeks, the outside of lettuces because they only want the tiny hearts, any greens on any root veg eg turnip, beet, carrot, radishes. Fair enough, even I don’t eat all those, but – you can, I’ve got a great recipe for beet and its greens. The onions, I just think it’s nice to get the white and the green together :)

      Our food is pretty basic and really just simple staples, but it suits us. Dinner parties are too late for me! I’m a breakfast or lunch person these days :D

      Like

  5. I have been absent from computers and blogs for way too long and now just catching up. Though the longer you leave these things, the more you have to catch up with. I like to cook cauliflower with the green leaves, and also I cook leeks right up to the very green bit too. Not a problem, always tastes so nice. My sister in law lives in Kent and she has had endless grey days of rain, whereas we, in sunny but a bit chilly Scotland, have had hardly any rain and lots of sunshine. Thanks for your comment on Marv’s blog. I am so remiss these days with all my internet stuffs. J xx (signed in as Marv!)

    Like

  6. or not! Signed in as Letty I see! Oh well. You know who I am, a woman of so many identities an Identity Crisis is just too confusing and so yesterday!

    Like

  7. This one is truly amazing,since i have seen spain related flicks in an Indian movie named “Spanish Masala” only! :) :)
    Nice to see those spanish pics and read the write up. It’s really lurid. . :) :)

    Like

Thanks for visiting roughseas whatever your interest and, if you comment, a bigger thanks.

