Just another week in the life …

I’m not a fan of ID cards. I’m a big believer in guilty until proven innocent, no, let me rephrase, innocent until proven guilty but that’s rather passé these days.

ID cards, CCTV, countless checks for this that and the other get in the way of the average person in the street, create yet more bureaucracy, and do what? Where was CCTV when the windows on our Santana were smashed?

But in Gib, an ID card brings with it health care, free access to the Upper Rock, the 100 Ton Gun, and Gib registration for your vehicle. Sometimes pragmatism outweighs principles. So we’ve had cards ever since we came. Oh, and don’t forget free buses, a very good benefit.

The streetvine informed us there were new cards. We needed to change over and muy pronto before September or it would cost us.

The tardy Roughseas arse swung slowly into gear. I rang to check the rumours were really true and then asked about the mobile units that were allegedly happening.

‘May I ask why you need the mobile unit?’ she said politely.

‘Broken ankle,’ I replied, knowing that explained everything. It usually does.

‘I can put your name on the list,’ she offered.

So she did.

Partner shot down to pose for his photo immediately.

I decided to try and limp there to get it out of the way. I figured I should be able to make it and stop being such a wimp. I arrived under strict instructions from Partner, before 8am, to be at the front of the queue for the opening at 8.30.

There was one other person, who thought the office opened at 8am. We chatted away for 40 minutes, and my book to while away the time went unread. Nice chap. Born in the UK, moved to Spain, then Canada, now Gib …

A week or so later I received a strange communication with a string of numbers related to my card. It didn’t say the card was ready to collect though. Just a PIN, a PUK, and a something else.

Partner snatched said communication and trotted down to ‘Collections’ (another queuing nightmare) to ask about both mine and his. After all, he’d gone a few days before me.

He returned with my ID card, yes in true Gibraltarian fashion a print-out communiqué that doesn’t say your card is ready, means, your card is ready. His was … in the system. Still is :D

Bureaucracy. Love it huh?

After my trip for the card I went to the build soc. It was about 8.45, so I sat on the seat to wait for 9am. Then I noticed people approaching the door to QUEUE. Damn. I’m too used to Spain where everyone hovers and says ‘Quien es ultimo?’

When they hadn’t opened by 9.05 I had the presence of mind to look at the door. Who, who, opens late for staff training on a Friday? I went home. I was not waiting until 9.30.

And then, a few days practising walking in Spain.

But, what does a woman cook, with loads of pimientos and berenjenas from the neighbours in Spain, a few other veg, and little else? Pizza of course!

I haven’t made pizza since The Ankle, and we don’t buy takeaway due to a) cost and b) I don’t like takeaways and invariably just pick off the veg.

And a few more evening walks around Gib to exercise the pesky ankle. I’m sure the screw is coming through on one side!

Wellington Front. Scene of the infamous accident
Wellington Front. Scene of the infamous accident

85 comments on “Just another week in the life …

  1. Here, they don’t seem to have CCTV at all! Not anything as what I see in British TV-series. They would probably solve a lot more crimes if they had.

    Having grown up and lived for fifty years in the same country, I didn’t question or reflect much upon stuff like ID-cards or … in Sweden’s case, «personal number». For most people the drivers license works as ID-card, but when you don’t have one, there are ID-cards. You must be able to prove what your ‘personal number’ is. You need it for everything. The corresponding thing here would be the ‘social security number’, but here, that’s super secret, as opposed to the Swedish version. Considering how ‘open’ your number is there, it’s strange that they don’t have a lot more identity theft, but they don’t.

    Like

    • I’d like to live in a society that didn’t need CCTV. People are saying they want more here. It comes with good and bad :(

      I still know my UK social security number although it’s of no use. Ingrained I guess. When photo driving licence cards were introduced into the UK they were proxy ID cards by default.

      More and more it’s getting harder to evade the system. So we join. I don’t agree with it, but my life is limited and I’m not victimising myself for my principles at my age. I did that when I was young.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a horrible idea our passports are dead or dying …
    *helpful suggestions regarding the screw*
    (1) Panic.
    (2) Stop walking.
    (3) Carry on walking, but look for a nut to put on the screw when it pops out.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. That all sounds tiring, apart from the eating home-made pizza mind you. Everywhere you have photographed looks like somewhere I want to be. Eating the pizza too, though I don’t reckon I’d get a crust if the pics are anything to go by. I’d love to live somewhere that isn’t cold and damp most of the time. Do you get horrible winters there? Is it damp? Will you adopt me and feed me pizza? I’m no trouble, honest guv. *nods*

    – sonmiupontheCloud

    Like

    • It’s a state of mind thing I guess.

      It’s where I wanted to be too, ergo here I am.

      No. No. No.

      Unless you have four legs, are furry and homeless. In fact I may need homing at some point. No pension, money runs out, no welfare, remind me why I paid 40% tax at some ridiculous point in my life?

      Liked by 2 people

      • Yes it is just that actually. It’s the only way to deal with daily pain. That and co-codamol. And JD.
        Ok then, it all sounds terrible when you put it like that, so I’ll keep a space on the Cloud for you, partner and any furries in need. Castles in the Clouds are the best we’ll all get at this rate anyway.

        – s.u.t.Cloud

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’m not very good with painkillers. I did have something the night my ankle had been spliced open on both sides because I couldn’t see myself sleeping otherwise. And the re ent kidney stone flare-ups necessitate ibuprofen, which worked the first time, but not too good the second. Luckily a neighbour pointed out that gin allegedly helps :)

          Castles in the air on the cloud sounds fine to me. Snowy hopes there will be lots of room to practise his agility training ie leaping on and off furniture.

          Like

  4. That ankle still sounds like a lot of trouble…and queuing you could live without at the best of times.

    We have to renew our residence cedulas next year….if we remember. Forgot last time and had to ask our lawyer to write a letter explaining that we were British and didn’t have them at home.
    This intrigued the bods at Migracion.
    How did we cope without ID, then?

    Very well, came the reply.

    A local town has just introduced CCTV with the result that we are all being regaled by shots of a Red Cross ambulance running full tilt into a car on a light controlled intersection.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve not had enough exercise. Partly my fault as I hate set exercises although I’m happy to walk, swim, cycle. But just doing boring repetitive routines drives me spare.

      ID :( Just :(

      I can never understand why CCTV seems to be useless at what it should achieve and merely records nothing of interest. At least your Red Cross incident is mildly interesting.

      Like

  5. I don’t even have a passport (luckily you don’t need it for virtual traveling) and be glad you didn’t have to go there. You’d wait a long time. :D

    Love your photos! You’ve just made my day! What a beautiful town you live in but you do know the ones with Snowy in are my favourite of course! He is so totally adorable and a great series of photos of him where he is telling partner he wants his pizza. It does look so yummy. :D

    I am glad to hear you can walk a bit on the ankle. Just take it slow please. A few years after we were married, they had to take the screw out of hubby’s ankle. He broke it while in the army. No fun for sure. Now it only hurts when he walks too much.

    Take care Kate and thanks for sharing all the beauty. Please give Snowy a big hug and kiss from me. ♥

    Like

    • I do live in nice places. Why live in a shit hole when you have to spend your life there? And, I like living by the sea too. Adorable isn’t quite the word I would always use for him. Possibly when he’s asleep.

      That sounds dire about your husband’s ankle :( I guess a bad break and it’s never going to be the same. But still, I’m here, walking/limping, and it could have been worse.

      Thanks Sonel. I’ll do that when he gets off the bed :D

      Liked by 1 person

      • Of course you should and yes, why should anyone? We all have choices. :D

        I think I would love to live by the sea as well or deep in the mountains. The sea might be a better choice. I won’t fall and break my neck as often. :lol:

        Now you know why I can empathize with you. It was and sure isn’t. Sometimes he comes from work limping and aching as well, but it’s like you say – it could have been worse.

        I still think Snows is totally adorable and so do you. hahahah! Please give him a big kiss and hug from me. ♥

        Like

        • We did think about moving to the mountains. A UK friend came out to see us and we took him walking up there. We told him we were thinking about buying somewhere there (more ground) and he had such a puzzled look on his face. We shelved our ideas shortly afterwards :D He was right.

          You can’t turn back the clock, so you just have to live with it. I can live with low level pain, what’s worrying is the lack of balance and the fear of falling/getting knocked over again :(

          Snowy must know when I’m writing to you. He’s always well-behaved!

          Liked by 1 person

          • Now why did he have a puzzled look on his face? Tell me more please. :D

            Yes, unfortunately not and that’s what we do. Same here and yes, that can be a problem. I would still prefer that island … you-know-where… :lol:

            hahahaha! I think you must get him his own laptop so the two of us can chat. Boy, will we have fun!

            Oh, he sure is. He is the sweetest little darling ever! Give him another hug and kiss from me please. :D ♥

            Like

          • It was in the middle of nowhere, ie halfway up a mountain, even though a pretty one. We’d met in a posh city suburb where we both lived!

            Anyway me and mountains are a non-starter. I feel like I fall over anything and everything these days. Shortsightedness?

            Liked by 1 person

          • No, that does sound like too much walking. Living on an island would be much better. If we were younger, then it wouldn’t have been a problem and let’s not start on the shortsightedness. :lol:

            Like

  6. Is that an old picture, or did you actually climb back up to the scene of the crime? I like your street views better! Is that you walking down the street in pink blouse? If so, I am really impressed with your choice of footwear, since it appears to be higher-heeled than any I’d care to wear. Pizza looks good! I also enjoyed those shots of the off-the-beaten-pathways. Nice red-gold soil.

    Liked by 1 person

    • New picture of SOC. But from the ground :D It’s closed off as they are tarting it up. Work started remarkably quickly after The Accident. Coincidence no doubt.

      Main Street has some lovely buildings, especially at our end :) that’s sort of in the middle ish.

      No it’s not me. I don’t wear pink or high heels. I live in trainers. Or nothing in summer around the flat and the finca.

      Some of the soil by us is quite poor, but the agricultural land is good because it’s ex-sea so v fertile. The pic is the local stream bed, used as a track by walkers, cyclists, horses, sometimes motorbikes and the odd car or tractor.

      Like

      • I don’t wear pink or high heels either. I prefer Birks outside, and bare feet in. If the world were as it was when I was a kid I’d be in bare feet most days outside, too — but it’s not, and I value my feet, so now the only times I am barefoot outside are at the beach or when I’m running around on grass. A bit risky that, considering things that could be lurking in the grass, but I can’t run around in shoes as well, so …… Your local stream bed looks inviting. Perhaps bare-foot worthy, too — if horses have been considerate and vehicles haven’t dropped spare parts in passing.

        Like

        • I do have a couple of pairs of Birks but they are falling apart and not overly safe. The Tevas are past their best too. Hence trainers. I do go barefoot on the terrace at the finca, it’s pretty safe, unless the sun has heated it up phenomenally. Not last year, but the year before when I escaped with a sprained ankle (same one) I found it much easier to get it moving again walking barefoot. The bandages got a bit dirty mind!
          The arroyo bed has some sharp stones, dog poo, sheep/goat poo, horse poo, and sometimes people poo … apart from that, it would be fine :)

          Like

          • On second thought….. perhaps I’ll keep my shoes on!

            We have a wonderful cobbler in town that is able to rebuild Birks. I have three pairs (two sets of sandals, and the shoe equivalent of a coupé) and both sets of sandals have been rebuilt a few times. The others I tried to get done a few years ago (nope, couldn’t do) and again a year later (for some reason could do then, but….) The end result of that last was that the soles were no longer being made for the shoes, so the best they could do was send me a brand new pair (from some warehouse in Winnipeg, I think) for the cost of a rebuild. Was I interested? Yes!! Now I pray that the soles of these shoes last for many many years.

            May your ankle be strong and healthy again well before next summer!

            In the meantime….. I recently saw someone walking while kneeling with one leg on a wheeled contraption. I was so amazed and impressed (never saw one before) that I stopped and asked about it. She had injured her foot I think. In any case, I just looked up “knee walkers” — because I had no idea what else to call the thing — and lo and behold that is what it is called. I have a feeling this may not be something you would be interested in — but in case you are curious, and have no idea what I am referring to, just google and you will see numerous links and some pictures of options.

            Like

          • Lol, rebuilds?! My soles that have parted from the sandal straps are stuck together with gaffer tape or duct tape or something like that.
            Don’t mention knees. I tripped yesterday and now have a bandaged and immobile knee …

            Like

          • Ouch! May your balance/coordination/strength/health recover soon so that you don’t continue this trend of falls and injuries. A new pair of shoes might help, if yours are duct taped together.
            The cobbler here is good — he replaced the complete footbeds of the Birks for about half the cost of a new pair — which meant I got a “new” pair of shoes that I already knew would be comfortable. I think the only parts that were kept from the original were the leather straps. Maybe there’s a cobbler there that can improve on the duct-tape version? Or perhaps a pair of boots with good ankle support that can turn you into one of those roly-poly dolls (the kind that right themselves back up when they get knocked over) — not that I’ve ever known a pair of boots that can do that. You might need a whole lower body attachment. Or, for a bit more fun, go for the bubble soccer outfit — although that doesn’t really help your ankles or legs — but will probably prevent any middle or upper body injuries (and if you do fall, you can just bounce your way home again…)

            Like

          • Gee thanks!! The Birks with tape are OK actually. Can’t even remember if I was wearing shoes when I fell last time. I blame multi-tasking and thinking about too many things instead of looking where I’m going.

            Like

          • If I didn’t know how ridiculous those suggestions were, I’d be sad. If you’d tried one, you could have posted photos…. :) But still, I hope your accidents are done now, and that you can multitask and the rest without further mishaps.

            Like

          • Who knows? Just one of those periods in life that we go through. Actually some of those weird boots that get dished out for broken limbs sound like some of your suggestions, but all I got was a plaster and two crutches :D thanks though, I hope so too.

            Like

  7. I don’t like IDs but one can’t get things here without one. To get a DL, you need an ID. To get a passport, you need an ID, to have a bank account you need one.

    Great shots. Hop more, you will soon be doing a walking marathon

    Like

    • In the UK you used to need a social security number for a few things, other than that, just proof address. In Gib you need a passport or an ID card. You could manage without the ID card, but when it brings benefits …

      Hop more! I still can’t hop :D

      Like

      • if it brings benefits makes sense to have one. The only benefit I can think of ours is at the parks where we pay a cheaper rate. I am not sure how many Kenyans visit these parks and museums though

        Like

  8. Sounds like the ankle needs, physiotherapy and one of those supports with magnets in. They’re quite cheap here so if you want to try one out and can’t get one there I can post you one. They’re the difference between being able to walk – not that far, but enough – or not at all to me. Also means you can bin the painkillers and get your short term memory back :-) always a plus that.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

    • Certainly needs/needed more physio, as did the wasted calf muscle.

      Thanks for that. I can hobble, so I’m just trying to get better at it and not feel like I’m going to fall over every minute like one of those odd dolls. I’m saving the painkillers for any more kidney problems. The ankle pain is tolerable. The kidney ones aren’t. Memory? :D

      Like

  9. Bureaucracy and IDs. I hate them but both necessary evils as are the now-ubiquitous CCTV cameras, which as you say, either don’t work when you need them to, or are in the “wrong” place. Sorry The Ankle is still a problem. Enjoyed your pictures of Gib. And lastly, pizza is made to share :)

    Like

    • They aren’t really necessary. That’s what’s annoying. They are just made necessary. And we all end up complying because life is hard enough without making extra problems.

      The Ankle is what it is. I dream at night of walking and running. And then I wake up and I can’t put it into practice.

      Thanks. Indeed, Snowy agrees.

      Like

  10. Photo ID’s are becoming so mandatory next we’ll have to be wearing them either dangling from and ear like a tag or around the neck on a lanyard (Wait some schools already make kids do that -with chips so the child can be tracked after passing a reader on buses or classrooms…all for “safety” you understand…) Need the ID to deposit money in your own account now, to write a check, to use credit card at Christmas time at most stores( huge fraud issues with stolen cards) – and stunned to find out we couldn’t even pick up the floor glue we ordered by on line from the flooring store…and had to sign 3 “person picked this up” forms…and of course the security cameras are always given waves. Get on a plane, long distance bus ticket…you name it. Has gotten darn annoying. Except voting. Anyone can vote without any form of ID any time – in person/by mail. Yep. Not important there.
    Like you, there’s a time to flow along as you can. Dirt paths are always a good choice. (Cooler here and better on dog paws.)
    Perturbed your ankle is such a problem – you don’t seem like a person who can sit still long. Bad bad accident. (Great picture of the spot!) Curious about something. The body will work out splinters and eject them sometimes…think your physical self is annoyed about the odd pokey thing and is trying to shove it out? Does that happen?)
    Funny how the paws know who will eventually give up a bite of the pizza.

    Like

    • I think they are only needed here at the bank and on the bus if you want free travel (we do). Having said that, I went to the old bank, and if I’d forgotten my ID, staff would just write Known To Me, and issue cash anyway. Very much a blast from the past when staff actually knew and remembered you. Always easier in a small place though.

      Voting is funny. Yes, you’re right. I think you need it in Spain though, because I know there was a fuss when some non-Spaniards (Brits, Germans) were turned away from elections despite being on the local register.

      I’ve given up asking my body what it thinks. It does what it wants when it wants. I’m grateful it keeps going at all.

      He’d already had some crusty bits from me, crunch, crunch, mmm yes.

      Like

  11. Do you need a passport to travel between, say, Gibraltar and Spain? What about between Spain and Portugal? We in the States now need one to go between here and Canada, which is a new and, as I see it, unnecessary aggravation. For many years I could travel back and forth when I lived up north without one. The same with travel to and from Mexico.

    While I’m still perplexed as to why the rules changed between travel to and from the US to Canada and Mexico, I could see requiring a passport to get into the state of Ohio from the rest of the United States, though I’m not sure anyone willingly travels to Ohio, only out of it. If you’ve been to Ohio you’d understand.

    Like

    • Yes. Or, a red ID card, ie Gibraltarian born/parents or for people who have lived here long enough to get a red card. Newcomers get blue cards which are only of use within Gib.

      Spain and Port have open borders, no frontier control, but you need ID to drive, when you book into hotels etc etc, so yes you need to carry something.

      I haven’t even visited America. And I’ll confess, Ohio was never on my list of places I might like to visit. (Ohio. Where’s that?)

      Like

      • I think the old quip about getting to Ohio was “Go straight to hell and take a left.” It’s just south of Michigan, in the Midwestern US. Lots of Snow, lots of cold weather, lots of corn fields and shuttered factories.

        I don’t know that Ohio is on anyone’s list of places to visit. Another good line: What the best thing to come out of Ohio? Interstate 70.

        Like

        • My knowledge of American geography is sketchy at the best of times, but the centre just sounds dire, probably because I can’t imagine being so far away from the sea. That’s the trouble with coming from a small maritime nation.

          Like

          • Well, I will say the folks in Ohio aren’t far from the Great Lakes; Lake Erie actually borders the northern part of the state. But I suppose if one is used to having easy access to the ocean, there’s not much that can make up for that.

            I’ve lived in eight states which border oceans or the Gulf of Mexico and just two that didn’t, so I’m partial to being able to get to the sea quickly.

            Like

  12. In Australia alternatives to the usual Drivers License ID is an Australia Post Keypass which my MiL has seeing as at 80+ she felt a DL or the other option the government’s Proof of Age Card weren’t for her. But apparently it’s necessary to have something official… not sufficient to just go around reciting your full name, birthdate and address as it is when providing security verification over the phone when communicating with call centre bods.
    Thanks for the pics… it’s not that I don’t enjoy your words… you know I do but so very nice to get an actual vicarious look at life a la Roughseas. Snowy has his eye on the piece of homemade pizza I wish I had!

    Like

    • Australia Post Keypass? Never heard of that. All this obsession with ID and it’s not as though it can’t be faked and forged.

      I’ve got loads of outstanding pics, just no time to post … Made another pizza yesterday, even remembered to take a pic before we started eating!

      Like

  13. the id card story reminds me of a story I heard at a 90th bday party earlier this year. a spunky 90 year old, i might add, who has since travelled to Wales and back and has probably got another trip in mind.
     
    in any case, this was a story told by the youngest brother of said 90 year old, an 80 year old who was visiting from out of town who was trying to renew his Driver’s License. that happens every 5 years in this corner of the planet – and requires a fresh photo.
     
    anyhow, apparently the first DL came in the mail – with the right photo, but wrong name and address, so needed to be redone.
     
    the second one came in the mail – with the right photo and name but still the wrong address, or something like that – and so it needed to be redone once more. at the time of the telling, the new, and hopefully correct DL had still not arrived – although I am hopeful that by now all is in good order.
     
    anyhow, congrats on your new card!
     
    one of my favourite pizza places is Camy’s Pizza in Vancouver, close to Madras Dosa House. I am attaching a link to their menu just in case one of your readers finds themselves in this corner of the planet with a hankering for some great pizza. Lots of curry-type toppings and many veggie varieties, some of which I suspect you might enjoy. although i am also a fan of homemade pizza if i don’t have to make it :)
     
    Snowy seems to be a fan of homemade pizza too!

    Like

Thanks for visiting roughseas whatever your interest and, if you comment, a bigger thanks.