Bread, pies, and La Plante

I loathe shopping. Just in case there is a single reader out there who was not aware of this fact, I thought I would remind you.

And, because it is colder, we are getting through far too much bread. Now, another reminder. The freezer broke down ages ago so we can’t freeze bread, which means I go every day or every other day or to the hated supermarket.

Why, you ask, am I not making my own bread? Indeed dear reader, I asked myself that very same question.

Many years ago Partner would make the bread while I trotted out to work. He fitted bread-making in on his quiet days and made a few loaves, freezing a couple.

But as I don’t like to be outdone, some years later when we bought a Rayburn for our last UK house, I decided this was a fine opportunity to learn to make bread. I took a week off work, and decided to make a loaf a day until I had got this bread-making thing cracked. And no, I didn’t want to go out and buy a bread-making machine.

My lovely Rayburn (and my scales, and my Belfast sink, and my granite worktops, and my Lefroy Brooks taps ....
My lovely Rayburn (and my scales, and my Belfast sink, and my granite worktops, and my Lefroy Brooks taps ….

And in a week, I had indeed got it cracked. I used the Kenwood Chef dough hook to knead the bread, but later, I was too lazy to wash it up, so just kneaded by hand.

I looked in the fridge. I’ve got dried yeast here in Gib although used to use fresh in the UK and Spain (from Mercadona). But the flour stakes were low (I keep it in the fridge as we get food moths in Gib and Spain – they like flour and all farinaceous goodies).

As there didn’t seem to be much point traipsing to Morrisons to buy flour when the whole point of the exercise was to avoid going to Morrisons, I wandered down the High Street to check out a couple of health food shops. Holland and Barrett had all manner of gluten-free flours, tapioca, rice, soya, potato, you name it – but no wheat. Off I went to a private health food shop to see what they had.

‘Do you have flour?’ I asked in a resigned tone of voice. Like, why would a health food shop sell bog standard flour? ‘Oh yes,’ she replied excitedly – and pointed out a huge range of flours, most of which were gluten-free. I think it is admirable that shops are catering for people who need a gluten-free diet, but I don’t need one and I like using wheat for my bread. Anyway, I toyed between rye and spelt and settled for rye.

Rye makes a heavier loaf but at least it tastes ok. And it did. The only problem was that I over-proved it so when it went into the oven it expanded horizontally instead of vertically. So I ended up with flat bread.

Nothing daunted, I decided to embark on a different loaf yesterday. By now I had been to Morrisons and got some exceedingly ordinary strong white flour.

‘Carrot bread?’ I suggested to Partner – the previous one had been flavoured with onion.

‘If you make carrot bread, you’ll eat it,’ he snapped. i think he’s confusing it with carrot cake. Anyway I made Pane con Pomodori e Cipolle Rosse. Except I didn’t have red onions so I used white.

Tomato and onion bread
Tomato and onion bread

I’ll add the recipe to the recipe page on the header, but suffice to say it is quite delicious. It worked out a bit expensive, as I used organic tomatoes and it wanted 1lb of toms. But even so, it still doesn’t cost as much as an expensive loaf from Morries. The flour cost 99p for three pounds, so that’s 33p per loaf, plus a drop of water, some dried yeast, and the toms, onions and chillies (from the garden). And the loaf is huge.

In case anyone thinks I spend all my time cooking and baking – I don’t. Clearly I spend half my time on here.

And in fact, just to prove that I too, succumb to buying prepared food, here is a delicious pie. For once not made by me. This is flaky pastry and individual pies, whereas I make shortcrust pie in a big pie dish.

Pie!
Pie!

This is billed as steak-style and onion pie. It’s Quorn, about which I am ambivalent but they are yummy. Sadly someone else in Gib has discovered that they are yummy. Morries has been depleted of them for days. Partner went to Morries and gazed mournfully at the space in the freezer where the pies should be. Next to him was a woman looking equally sad. ‘No pies,’ he said. ‘No,’ she gloomily agreed, and off they both went without buying anything else from the freezer section. (I made a pie that day).

En route to ghastly Morries I took a closer look at the expensive floating hotel. It looked worse in daylight. I’ve never fancied a holiday on a cruise ship, Partner and I rudely and snobbishly refer to them as floating council estates when they turn up in Gib and disgorge all their oiky passengers. I can’t think of anything worse than being cooped up with a load of people who I almost certainly wouldn’t like for a week or two or more.

Floating council estate
Floating council estate

What are they doing up there? They'll need to do a lot to make this look a pretty ship.
What are they doing up there? They’ll need to do a lot to make this look a pretty ship.

And en route back one evening, I took a few photos of the lights down Main Street. It really is lovely in the evening, it is so quiet and peaceful.

Main Street
Main Street

The Governor's Gaff
The Governor’s Gaff
Looking south, down our quiet end of Main Street
Looking south, down our quiet end of Main Street

Lynda La Plante – crime novels

Let’s have some more books. As part of my haul of 70 free books, a couple were included by Lynda La Plante. LLP is a British crime write, who became famous with her TV series of Prime Suspect, featuring the wonderful Helen Mirren as DCI Jane Tennison. A tough woman in a touch man’s world. Wiki link.

The two books in my goody bag were Anna Travis ones (some of these have also been televised).

She is younger than Tennison, mid to late 20s, bright, Oxbridge-educated and fast-tracking for promotion and career. Her father was a DCI (now dead), and in his working life he helped the then younger James Langton. While the books that I have read are about Travis and her career, it’s Langton who leaps out of the pages. Clever, smart, arrogant, selfish and mesmerising. Unlike Anna with her degree, Langton has worked his way up.

My free books were Red Dahlia and Clean Cut, the second and third in the series. I do wish people would buy the whole set, or at least buy the first one. It’s as bad as being left without the last Twilight novel.

An OK read on the left, a good one on the right. (But best to read in sequence)
An OK read on the left, a good one on the right. (But best to read in sequence)

Red Dahlia is a very nasty plot with some vile graphic detail. Why anyone wants to read about someone’s nipples being sliced off and shoved up her anus is beyond me. It’s based on a true American unsolved murder called The Black Dahlia. If you want to feel sick, check it on wiki.

But leaving aside – if that’s possible – the issue of abusing, torturing, raping, and killing women, oh and add in incest too, the book is a good read. Just skip the graphic bits.

Clean Cut is something else again. More complex and much darker although not quite as much mutilation. The Travis/Langton characters have moved on and are living together. The plot involves a few murder cases that turn out to be connected in an odd sort of way. This did leave me confused (easily done).

At the beginning of the book Langton gets attacked with a machete and nearly dies. Our heroine nurses him back to good health although he is a veritable pain in the arse, and once he is better the miserable git chucks her. And then all the separate cases start coming together. I had to backtrack with this just to get all the cases and characters straight. A bit like Potter which I also found confusing, but far better than Potter. As well as the odd few murders, add in illegal immigrants, voodoo, prostitution, chopping people and kids up and feeding them to pigs, and stir well.

Langton is determined to find the person who nearly killed him. This is what makes the book good. He is so single-minded, resolute and tough. And he keeps it all to himself. I won’t spoil it by giving away the ending but I thought it was great.

Partner was instructed to read both novels and did not like the Langton character at all. Some time ago, another blogger wrote something about sexuality in novels. LLP has created a very sexual character in Langton. The sort of man you know you should ignore and can’t resist.

Some, but not all of these books have been televised as the ‘Above Suspicion’ series (the name of the first book). I popped me over to YouTube to see what I could find. No Clean Cut sadly, I suspect it was too complex to put into 90 minutes or whatever.

LLP wrote the screenplays but I thought they were a poor reflection of the books. And what about the lead actors in the series? Kelly Reilly and Ciarán Hinds.

We have a woman in her mid to late 30s playing a woman ten years younger. To be fair she looked young, and acted extremely datelessly. In fact she could have been in high school the way she sat interviewing people with her notebook on her knee and squeaking with a prissy little voice. And I don’t know how the hell she got into Oxford, because anyone going to a murder site in the country wearing a short skirt and high heels is seriously lacking in brain cells. Even your average reporter isn’t that stupid and our photographers carried Wellingtons in the boots of their cars. So the touchy feisty independent Travis of the books turns into a bimbo on screen.

Hinds at 60+ is more than ten years older than Langton in the books, or maybe 20? And fatter. In the books he is always portrayed as long, lean, rangy etc. But his performance was better than Reilly as Travis. At least he had the bossy attitude. But there was no sex!! The books major on the relationship between the two of them. And it wasn’t there in the TV productions. Just one chaste kiss from her to him and he looked surprised. When he finally gets back to Anna’s home in Clean Cut after lots of treatment, and she’s helped him into bed because he’s struggling to walk – his first comment is ‘I suppose a fuck’s out of the question?’ Sex is part of life and when it’s part of a story, it should be included, however it’s portrayed.

The best YT vid I watched was, of course one of the books I hadn’t read, so I had nothing to compare it with.

I hunted down a couple of other books from the library, Silent Scream (also on YT) and Blind Fury. Silent Scream is about an actress who gets murdered, and was OK but nothing special. In Blind Fury Travis finds herself a new man and they decide to get married. Natch, it doesn’t happen. But this didn’t hang together for me. Her new man is nice enough but there wasn’t the same intensity that had characterised the Travis/Langton relationship. It was more like ‘Here’s a nice bloke, might as well marry him, (because I can’t have the one I really want)’.

But recommended reads? Yes. I’ve read them more than once. Do try and start with the early ones first because that will give a better feel for the series as there are back references to previous books, although they do stand alone.

Scores:

Red Dahlia 2/3 out of 5 but that is really because of the nasty graphic detail.

Clean Cut 4/4.5, the complexity dragged it down from a 5 but it is a good read.

Silent Scream and Blind Fury, both a 3. Clean Cut was so powerful that anything coming after that was going to find it hard to match.

I see there are another three written after Blind Fury, so La Plante is on a roll with this series. Just wish someone would leave their unwanted versions around for me to read.

43 comments on “Bread, pies, and La Plante

  1. I too once had a Rayburn…lovely thing….and only bettered by a Franco-Belge in the next house.
    I would have loved to have something similar in France but the price of anything remotely like them was astronomical.
    i used to make my own bread – and then lost the art on moving here which is where it stayed until reading Back to Bodrum’s dad’s recipe for beetroot and apple bread…I only had beetroot, but suddenly my breadmaking was back on top form again…so now I’ll try yours.
    Well, not now, but some time this week.

    I read a La Plante but can’t remember which one now….it didn’t enthuse me enough to look for more.
    I’ve had a jag of reading Christopher Brookmyre recently….Scottish crime but as far from Rankin as possible.

    Like

    • I was brow-beaten into the Rayburn by Partner who grew up with one (Kent coalfields) as I was still into gas at the time. These days I don’t care. Butane camping stove in Spain and electricity in Gib (good to my surprise – a double oven belling which my mother had so many years ago, I swear I am turning into her). We did look at a range/solid fuel one for the finca, but pretty stupid in Andalucía.

      Not sure about apple and beetroot, although beetroot was one of the options in the first onion bread I made. And I should have some ripe ones at the finca. Or dry ones. Anyway, if I don’t get to post the recipe before you have a go, it’s a pound of toms, two onions, 3 and half teaspoons dried yeast, water and flour. You get the idea. Rye tonight, pain de siegle. Rye is difficult.

      Gib Library is sort of limited. So I tend to read up on an author and then find another one. I’m currently finishing off the La Plantes. My problem was reading about this too sexy man. I’ve read some other books of hers now which are totally different.

      I’ll see if the library has Brookmyre. If he’s new, unlkely. I quite like Rankin though for an easy read. Can’t always be reading Rushdie or Dostoevsky.

      Like

    • I loved Midnight’s Children. And The Moor’s Last Sigh. But I also like Garcia Marquez. It’s the whole long novel, totally surreal fantasy complexity that leaves me entertained for hours. But sometimes I like an easy read, hence crimecrap.

      Like

      • I tried both – a friend loved them – but could not get to grips with either.
        I tried his one about Pakistan too…that went a bit better but not so much that I finished it and his one about Nicaragua – Jaguar Smile(?) gave me the heebies.
        i must be allergic to his style.
        Marquez, on the other hand, yes.

        But fror real crap you can’t beat Proust.

        Like

  2. I can remember watching Above Suspicion. I rather liked Ciaran Hinds in the role – in a rather oily, overweightish way but I felt the relationship between him and Travis was sort of avuncular with slightly weird undertones. Having not read the books I can’t comment as to whether he was as La Plante intended although I thought she had some input into the TV productions, didn’t she?
    Impressed with the bread making. We had a phase of it too – or should I say that Husband tried for a few weeks to produce a perfect loaf. The birds ate quite well during that period.

    Like

    • I think Hinds would have been ok if you hadn’t read the books. Often the case with films or televised novels. Good summary of the relationship on the televised series, but that was so not my impression from the books. Can’t find the first one now on YT either :( She wrote the scripts as I recall, which is partly why I was disappointed. Suppose it depends how much she had to fit in with banal TV short timescale demands.

      As for the bread, I am nothing if not a) tight and b) determined not to be beaten. Put the two together and I just decided, like Helen above, that it was time to make bread again. Anyway, it tastes better.

      My great aunt was a compulsive food buyer. We thought her birds would have toppled over they would have been so top-heavy.

      Like

  3. On the graphic detail, there was Luther, starring Idris Elba. After the bloke who drained his victims of blood in order to write slogans in their houses, I stopped being disgusted. It was, well, Ooh, what next? Ooh, he’s been shot there? Ohhh…

    I don’t know whether I am depraved or corrupted or not. IRL it would be horrible but on the telly, well….

    Like

    • Being TV less I’ve not seen Luther but it sounds quite interesting and it has the lovely (although ageing) Paul McGann who I fell in love with in The Monocled Mutineer. Actually in Red Dahlia I think the murderer drained his victims of blood too. Before neatly sawing them in half. Perhaps it’s worse reading about it, my imagination runs riot.

      Like

  4. I’m with you there on the hate of shopping, even more so at this time of the year, if that’s at all possible.
    My efforts at bread making go back to my school days, I’ve never done the whole hand made thing since then, but several years ago, lazily I decided I’d buy a bread maker.
    It was a success coupled with disaster….the bread was so nice, I was eating far more than I would normally do (A’s comment about if you make it, you’ll eat it is so true LOL), so before the pounds started piling on, I boxed it up – that’s the bread maker, not the bread – and shoved it in a cupboard, where it lingers to this day.
    I laughed at you cruise ship comment, I really don’t think I’d go on one if I was given a free trip. As large as they are there’s only so many times I’d be able to walk around the ship before I would feel I’d lost my freedom.
    Gib looks lovely in your photos, is the whole area cobbled/paved?

    Like

    • I think the hatred can’t get any worse, but the experience does. Hence lucky A on his holidays gets to go shopping :D

      We never made bread at school. I learnt zilch in domestic science. Hated it. Learned far more from a few cookery books. I learned to make white sauce from my mum because I always ended up stirring it while she was doing something else. Hmm, feeling hungry now.

      Bit of a waste of a bread maker. Mind you, I did eat three pieces of the tomato bread when it was cool enough to eat :D and we both had a couple of pieces of rye bread that I made yesterday.

      Well, I like ships, but the cruise idea just doesn’t attract me. Probably I would feel out of control, too organised and rigid. When I’ve been on ferries I’ve normally spent most of my time in my cabin reading. Away from people.

      Main Street is paved from the bottom at Casemates Square up to just before the Governor’s House. When we first came years ago it was still full of traffic with narrow pavements. I don’t know how they managed. Now you need a permit to drive up and down Main Street, only allowed between 7-10am for commercial vehicles. Yes, we do have one :D The amount of gear A has is not usually transportable by hand although he’s walked today with a paintbrush, tin of paint and a drill. Although Main Street is paved in the road area, they are quite small stones, not dissimilar size to cobbles. Wimpy tourists wouldn’t be able to walk on cobbles. I should really take a summer pic when the street is just chocka with cruise ship traffic. Trouble is, I use the back streets then.

      Like

  5. I found this post fascinating. I enjoyed reading about the pursuit of bread. Since last March of this year I have not eaten any bread. Zero! I miss the organic English wheat muffins that I got at the local HEB. I can’t eat gluten free bread since all of it has corn which gives me problems most times. Rice, plus some other gluten free grain tastes like cardboard and costs a small fortune. I am not baking since the oven no longer holds heat very well.

    I admire your ability to bake bread. I tried that a few times when I was still working way back when and the bread was fit only for the dogs. I used that awfully hard bread as treats and the dogs liked it for it’s “chewiness” I suppose. :-)

    Like

    • I’m pleased you’ve told me the gf bread tastes like cardboard, that was my fear, so buying the rye was clearly the right move. I’m never sure what Americans mean when they refer to English muffins! HEB??

      I used to bake bread on automatic pilot. I would fall in from work, put the yeast in water, add it to the flour to start it off, then start cooking for tea, at some point a bottle of wine would be opened, then I would knead the bread, put it to rise. Probably eat tea at that point. Then knock back dough, put it to prove. Cook. Try and stay awake until it was done! Unless it was weekend I tended to bake the same basic pain ordinaire, it was fairly quick and uncomplicated so I could pretty much throw it together. As I’m not working now, I’ve got a bit more time to mess around.

      When we bought the flat, there was a cooker in it, but the oven never worked! So we cooked on the top of the stove for ages (ie three years), until I got fed up and decided we would have a PROPER cooker.

      http://wp.me/p1XwsS-om and http://wp.me/p1XwsS-oF

      Like

      • Well, K. or Ms Gib which do you prefer? English muffin made of 7 sprouted grains and certified organic and the package says flourless but has yeast. Brand name is “Food for Life.” I’m sure it is not the same genuine muffin that you eat or used to eat. But what I had been eating was labeled as such and did not have any cane sugar. Loved the taste of all those grains with a bit of margarine and honey added and put in the toaster oven to brown just a bit. I ate those with coffee and poached egg. I don’t have any idea how a real English muffin tastes. You would not recognize these as English muffins. :-)

        HEB stands for Harry E. Butt which was founded maybe 80-90 years ago – not sure. The founder is deceased but the son continues with top quality stores all over Texas. Where I shop I can get soy milk, Greek yogurt (I no longer eat any dairy), organic food but rarely buy unless the price happens to be better than non-organic, great fresh produce, eggs from open range chickens here in Texas (Vital farms) look on Internet for info. Very interesting. I stopped eating eggs in March but ate a tota of 3 last week. MD suggested adding eggs again to get more protein.

        Also HEB has good pet food aisles, and sometimes I find something that is very good such as the recent dog treats that are made in Monroe, Washington by the Wet Noses compay.. “Doggy Delirious” is the brand name. I had not seen these ever at Pets Mart but happened to spot these on the shelf at HEB as I looked for anything that was not made in Asia.

        ~yvonne

        Like

        • Ms Gib will do nicely thank you :) It is quite personalised and I like it.

          I have no idea what an English muffin tastes like or any other muffin as I have never had one. English muffins look similar to crumpets/pikelets which I have definitely had lots of.

          Your shop sounds good, thanks for the detail. I looked up Vital, it looks like quite a big concern.

          I buy dog food from our Gib supermarket that has been made in the UK, I would not want to buy Chinese food for me or the dogs. In Spain, the food is made in Spain, and I buy my treats in Spain too.

          I made the changes as requested (took me ages to find be be!) and a couple of others as well, the one about no longer eating any diary gave me a laugh, I had visions of you sitting at the table with a pile of old diaries to scoff your way through.

          Like

          • So sorry Ms Gib. Dairy it is and not diary. I’ve never kept a diary but I’ve eaten plenty of dairy in the past. :-) I reckon I should just do one liners and then both our “problems will hopefully melt away.” I don’t have a spell check option when replying/ commenting and I am doing good just to comment on my favorite blogs. But I’ll scale back on my thoughts and I hope in that manner I won’t have any more terrible mistakes. ~yvonne

            Like

          • I don’t keep a diary either, but I do use one for appts and jotting down info. I use a calendar the same way. Much easier than computer/mobile.

            I make loads of errors in replies, I’ve written diary/dairy too, prob why I noticed it. My other big ones are two/too and now/know. I figure people know what I mean though.

            Spell checkers are pretty useless really as they don’t check for sense, so they wouldn’t pick up any of the examples in these posts. I never use them. write what you want, it takes little time to correct it.

            Like

          • Thanks. I use a calendar in the same manner as you. If I see a typo/s on someone’s comment I fix it/them but so many bloggers do not bother with it all. They just let all the errors remain for the whole word to see the commenter’s mistakes which I think is a mistake. Surely they know they can “fix” someone’s mistakes but for some reason choose to ignore the obvious.

            This comment probably has an error but I hope not. :-)

            Like

          • I confess to being idle. Everyone else seems to leave the typos up so it seems par for the course. I did have a phase of correcting at one point and I began to wonder why I was bothering. I will add yours to the – abandoned – list of ones I meant to amend. Anyway, no I didn’t see any :D

            Like

  6. You’re good, baking your own bread and all that. Have you had any thoughts about getting a new freezer? I buy bread. The other day, I decided to try something different, and ended up with some bread that had celery in it. It was yucky. I really like celery, but there’s a place for everything.

    It looks beautiful there now, with all the lights! We get oodles of cruise ships here, but the season is over. Starts again in June next year, and it always finishes with QMII.

    I loved that show … Prime Suspect! She’s such a brilliant actress!

    Last time we ‘communicated’, I was reading a bunch of books about Liverpool … Maureen Lee. I read all she’d written. Now I’ve found another one; Lesley Pearse, not LIverpool, though. In between, I read Dan Brown’s Inferno. I did finish it, but there were so many times I was just about to give up. Was surprised — I found The Da Vinci Code quite entertaining.

    Like

    • The only thoughts I have had about getting a new freezer are to wait until the fridge packs up as well! I’ve not tried bread with celery. Caraway seeds are in quite a few recipes but Partner is NOT keen on caraway seeds. I have to make bread that he will like when I start adding fancy bits and pieces. It’s pretty easy baking bread, most of the time is spent in rising and proving so you can get on with something else eg washing up the sticky yeasty floury bowls :D

      I think our season ends some time before Christmas and starts again around Easter. But I suspect we may be warmer than you.

      Mirren is excellent, I loved PS too, I liked her tough attitude plus a woman being in charge.

      La Plante is actually from Liverpool as well. I remember you mentioned Maureen Lee. I’m not sure I’ve read Inferno. I wasn’t keen on the Da Vinci Code but I did read Demons and Angels by him recently and thought that was ok, to my surprise!

      Like

  7. I used to bake bread – a long time ago ( it was so cool to do then. Organic. Earthy. Healthier than bought bread – and tastier – oh wait, that’s back in fashion now, right? Sorry. All the cycles cause giggles once in a while.) Nothing smell better than baking bread, thought, and eating it right then. But do hope you figure out someway to avoid daily shopping.
    Cruise ships are so top heavy they look comical….Just too many people in too little space – and you’re trapped there….maybe if you drink a lot?
    The town looks festive and chilly. We’re back to winter for a bit now. But fits the season.

    Like

    • I’ve no idea whether or not bread making is fashionable right now. When I was baking it by hand everyone I spoke to (like Vicky above) had brought a bread machine. ‘I make my own,’ I would say, and they would reply ‘So do I,’ and launch into the delights of having a machine where they threw in the ingredients and then let the machine make it. The trouble is, I actually wanted to be able to do it myself. Another box to tick off.

      I used to buy huge sacks of flour (mail order), wholemeal and white, both organic. Wouldn’t like to think of keeping huge sacks like that here though. Would get full of nasties.

      There are a few bread shops down the town, but oddly the supermarket has the best choice of bread, some organic, some flavoured, different types of continental bread so it means you can ring the changes. But we have just been going through too much recently, it’s cold, plus making sandwiches for Partner to take to work and me to have for lunch, that it seemed easier to make it. Less time-consuming than going to the shops. And no worries about what an investigative pup might find to chew in my absence.

      I don’t think I could drink enough to enjoy a cruise.Or all the people.

      Festive Gib is low key really. Which is nice.

      Like

      • I’ve never used a bread making machine – seems like it would take all the fun out of it. Where you are Bread making is probably normal – around here it goes in cycles…and more use the fancy machines.
        Molly has suddenly taken interest in the rungs of an old bench…who know why…having to watch her like a hawk..actually I think she does it so I’ll stop and play with her….which is generally more fun than what I had been doing.

        Like

        • Actually as far as I know it’s not normal, people are too lazy to cook half the time, let alone bake bread. In Spain we get endless bread delivery vans, one at 7.30am, one at 8am, and then another couple around 11am and 11.30am. Some people use at least two, sometimes three of them. No idea how much bread they manage to eat so much bread.

          Chairs are our fave here at the moment, the legs or the rungs. The sofa is nice too, my clothes, his lead and harness, anything he can get from the table (papers and pens) although today he snaffled a piece of my bread and butter (I’d made rye) which he was most pleased with. Trouble was I’d been saving it to split in two, half each for him and Pippa so poor Pippa missed out. I’ll make it up to him later and give him a tablet for his arthritis – flared up again in the cold.

          Like

          • Oh, sigh. I was hoping the life style there meant more real cooking. That is a lot of bread – I’d have to do a lot more walking to keep off the pounds.
            A few minor dog boxing events today – not room for both to go through the door at once, but they’ve settled down enough to ignore each other once in a while. The German does get tired.
            I think Molly would love Snowy – she has some high energy height challenge friends.
            Poor Pippa. One of our Bouviers had arthritis and that breed didn’t tolerate meds very well. A heating pad helped on very cold wet January.
            Hope the sun holds – the yard is drying up and maybe we can go for a hike tomorrow. Paw waves to all

            Like

          • Bread doesn’t put on weight, well not for me anyway. But maybe I don’t eat a lot of it. I doubt Spanish bread puts on weight, there’s nothing too it, and they don’t use butter.

            Heating pad is a good idea. Where did you get it from? Bet there aren’t any in Gib :D

            Chucking it down here today. Pippa came and waved a paw over your way. Christmas greetings to you all. We shall be back in the new year.

            Like

  8. Coincidentally (well, almost) I baked a few loaves of my own the day before yesterday. Basic stuff from over-processed bleached Canadian wheat. Not terribly good for you I suppose but pretty much my favourite thing, especially when toasted and topped with far-too-salty butter (Oh lord, I hope my doctor doesn’t catch wind of this; I’m mildly hypertesive).
    Your comments about the cruise brought a smile to my face–the smile that says, “good, someone else see it the way I do so I’m not completely daft,” In a related way, though, one of the Canadian carriers, “Westjet” has just started a reasonably-priced service from St. John’s to Dublin and I’m making plans for OH and I to visit there next summer. My mom was from there and I am truly looking forward to getting back. As a child I spent parts of most of my summers there but have not been back since I was 14…almost 40 years ago. Won’t be doing anything too touristy, just retracing some old memories. Frig cruises.

    Like

    • No idea where my flour comes from apart from Morrisons. I used to buy some class organic flour in the UK, and Morries sold some at one point, but there isn’t any at the moment. I should probably really buy Allinsons rather than supermarket ownbrand as it is non GMO, sourced locally in the UK etc etc

      I made a couple of rye loaves when we’d finished the tomato and onion. They don’t rise much, but they do taste yummy. With or without salted butter :D

      There is a difference between forking out vast sums of money to traipse endlessly around a few ports in the Mediterranean or Caribbean or around New Zealand or wherever, spending the largest amount of time cooped up on board, and taking a boat to get from a to b.

      So, for example, I used a combination of train, bus, and ferry when I was travelling to and from the UK to visit my parents when they were old/poorly/infirm/funerals etc Sure flying would have been cheaper and faster, but I didn’t want to do that. Having an interesting journey made it more of an adventure instead of a boring tedious flight just sitting in a small seat for three hours.

      Sounds like your return to Ireland will be great. Ireland is a beautiful country, I’m not sure I have a favourite place there were so many lovely ones, beautiful cities and gorgeous countryside. South east, and north west maybe? Wicklow, Wexford, Waterford, and in the other direction, Sligo and Mayo.

      Like

    • Ironically it only smelled when the bread was actually cooked and on the table cooling. With a Rayburn you don’t get the smell of slowly baking bread, which is inconvenient as it is too easy to forget about it and end up with burnt bread!

      Like

  9. I like those scales! The pie looks surprisingly good – I rather like Fray Bentos tinned pies but have to eat them in secret because Kim finds them revolting. I agree, the cruise ship looks horrible. Thanks for your blog and have a good Christmas.

    Like

    • They are pretty old. They are the ones we used to use at Christmas to weight large pieces of cheese. A normal scale went up to two pounds, but you could flip a lever and it would weigh up to four. People actually did buy pieces of three and four pounds back then. And they didn’t want it in two pieces!

      The pies are good. I’m not a fan of prepared food as I endlessly say, but these are great. I should take a pic of them when I have cut into them to show the inside and the nice gravy, trouble is, we eat them too quickly. Tinned pies?!! Whatever next?

      Floating ship, not cruise ship. Well, floating hotel actually. Or not even floating, just moored.

      It’s looking like a very wet Christmas here. Been raining all night and no sign of stopping :( Great for a drive to Spain :D Enjoy yours too.

      Like

  10. the bread sounds awesome. i actually prefer rye to wheat so that would have been my choice, too. i don’t bake, however there are a couple of places i can buy some, and that works for me.  
    loved your evening street views, too. very peaceful-looking.
     
    i actually went on a cruise with some friends in the early 90’s. it was a very spontaneous decision, because the price was brilliant as it was a repositioning cruise. it began in new york with several stops including bermuda, a passage through the panama canal and it ended up in acapulco, mexico 2 weeks later. so for a bit of an extra fee we added on a couple of days in new york at the beginning and for hardly any extra fee at all we added on a couple of days in acapulco at the end.
     
    i am not at all a ‘cruiser’ but the price was so reasonable, i decided to join in. my expectations were very low, of course, and after i had booked it, my initial thoughts were, what have i done! stuck on a boat for two weeks. but there were many excursions and even opportunities to use local transit in bermuda to get about on our own, and we met some nice people, too.
     
    the passage through the canal was unforgettable. it took about 12 hours. someone from the canal authority boarded the ship, and we had a running commentary throughout the day. so fascinating. unfortunately all my images were created with regular film, so i don’t have any digital ones to share online. but i do have to say i was so pleasantly surprised. a brilliant holiday for a great price. it did change my opinions on cruises, but at the same time, i have not sensed the urge to go on another one.
     
    and enough from me – sorry, i almost forgot this is not my blog :D

    Like

      • I do like rye, but I use white flour with it to get more rise out of the dough. Rye on it’s own is too dense to get a well-risen loaf. Tomato and onion was good and there was a request for it to be made yesterday but I didn’t have enough of them to make bread and pasta sauce so we ended up with spinach bread. Not tried it yet. Sounds a bit odd. Green bread?

        Well, your cruise sounds good, certainly the idea of adding days on at either end, and the Panama Canal must have been fantastic, I would certainly have enjoyed that part of it. Don’t you have a scanner for your film pix? I’ve got one on the Canon that doesn’t work with the Mac :( and one on the colour printer/fax/’phone that fortunately does work. Hence the old pix on Everypic and even the one at the top here of our former kitchen. Something like the Panama Canal or a cruise where it would actually be better to experience something from the water would be about the only thing that *might* tempt me. Oh, and the cheap price of course :D

        Thank you, and to you and yours too. Snowy sends an excited bark and Pippa sighs.

        Like

Thanks for visiting roughseas whatever your interest and, if you comment, a bigger thanks.